The first written record of Crakehall (then known as Crachele) is thought to have appeared in the Domesday Book of 1086.
In 1976, Mr Harry Stembridge, a long time resident, published a 'History of Crakehall' containing many interesting facts, figures and dates! You can now read a copy of his book at:
The history of the village is also the subject of a website created by Ian Hancock that contains links to 'Crakehall Marriage registers from 1843 to 1923' and 'Crakehall Tithe Award 1839'- to mention just a couple. Ian Hancock's website is well worth viewing - he spent many happy holidays as a child in Crakehall when his grandmother, Clara Hancock, lived at "The Bungalow" overlooking the bridge, and his great aunt, Gertrude Stelling, was landlady of the Bay Horse. Later, Ian and his father, George, spent a lot of time researching the history of the village. The website is a mine of fascinating information and is available at:
Crakehall Hall, built in 1732, is situated in the village overlooking the 5-acre village green. It was once the country seat of the Duke of Leeds, who lived at Kiveton Park in South Yorkshire. It is a Grade II* listed building.
A Bronze Age round barrow, identified at grid reference SE235886 as a Tumulus and 540 m south-west of the Bay Horse Inn, is a scheduled ancient monument.
The White Cross is a Grade II listed medieval cross which stands at the side of the A684.